

Dalhousie Student Union Building | 6136 University Avenue PO Box 15000 | Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3H 4R2

T 902.494.2140 **F** 902.494.5185 dsu.ca • @dalstudentunion



DSU recognizes senators with Profile in Courage Award

On April 13, 2020, the Dalhousie Student Union awarded Senators Gregory Adolphe Nazaire and Patti Doyle-Bedwell the Profile in Courage award for their outstanding contribution towards creating an equitable and more inclusive institution at Dalhousie University.

The Profile in Courage award was established by the Senate this year in order to recognize senators who go beyond the call of duty to help further the academic mission of Dalhousie and work to the betterment of the institution. The 11 student representatives on the committee unanimously voted this to award the Profile in Courage to two candidates rather than one.

As the recipient of the prestigious Archibald award, and the university wide award in teaching excellence, Senator Nazaire continues to break barriers as a limited term appointment lecturer and demonstrates his commitment to excellence in teaching. Senator Nazaire is deeply involved in the community promoting social and economic justice through his dedication to the Black Business Initiative and various other organizations. He also demonstrates dedication to inclusion and diversity through his contributions to CBC on racism, race relations, and community affairs.

Senator Doyle-Bedwell has a long-standing history of working on equity issues on campus and in the broader community, serving as Chair of the NS Advisory Council on the Status of Women for ten years and working closely with Mi'kmaq communities, the Native Women Association of Canada, Women and the Law, and the United Nations on Women and Aboriginal rights. She also directed the Indigenous Black and Mi'kmaq Initiative at Dalhousie Law School and became the first Mi'kmaq woman to teach there.

DSU President Aisha Abawajy says, "These folks have been awarded the Profile in Courage because they not only believe in an equitable future but do everything in their power to create one today."

The Senate hopes this award ceremony is the first of what will become a long-standing tradition.

Signed,

Aisha Abawajy President, Dalhousie Student Union

Hasan Sinan

VP Academic & External, Dalhousie Student Union

Ameir Yahia

Chair, Senate Student Caucus

Nik Isaac-Pictou

Student Senator

Nima Maymandi

Student Senator

Francisca Annan

Student Senator

Nicole Blinn

Student Senator

Abdirahman Haiye

Student Senator

Patrick Nnoka

Student Senator

Phoebe Owen

Student Senator

Camille Sandham

Student Senator